The Drysdale Free Library is home of the Drysdale First Scouts Group who use the hall and adjoining sheds while the Drysdale Community Craft shop occupies the former Free Library facing onto the main street.
The buildings stand on the land of the of the Wathaurong people.
The Drysdale Free Library was constructed in 1881 to Victorian eclectic designs by Geelong Architect Alexander Davidson.
The picturesque Library is a rendered building with moulded architraves, string course quoining, and central projecting porch. The windows have flat arched heads with a keystone. A timber hall is at the rear of the Free Library.
Working Heritage was appointed to manage Drysdale Free Library in 2004 and undertook significant conservation works in 2006–07. Major conservation works were undertaken again in 2015 and were recognised by the an award from the local branch on the National Trust.
Working Heritage will to ensure the building remains a useful community asset.
Photographs by Peter Glenane.
t: 9600 1667
Former Royal Melbourne Mint
280 William Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
PO Box 13287
Law Courts Post Office
277 William Street
Melbourne VIC 8010
Permanent and casual parking
is available at the Mint Car Park,
280 William Street, Melbourne.