Working Heritage will be opening up the mysterious site known as 'Jack's Magazine' - a former gunpowder storage facility on the banks of the Maribyrnong River - on Saturday 27 July 2019. The site, which is usually closed to the public, will be open for one day only, as part of the Open House Melbourne weekend 2019.
Come along to discover what lies beyond the bluestone walls - the buildings, tramways, tunnels and earth (blast) mounds. You can take a self-guided tour or join one of the organised tours scheduled throughout the day. The views from the top of the earth mounds towards the city are worth the climb alone, as anyone who has made the trek will attest.
Open House Melbourne invites people to explore outstanding houses, buildings, infrastructure and landscapes that illustrate our rich history, reflect how we live and work, and offer insights into our future city.
Visit Open House Melbourne for more details.
The latest step towards reactivation of the Warracknabeal Court House took place on
Friday 25 May 2019.
Working Heritage, in partnership with Monash University Art Design & Architecture and Creative Victoria, hosted a community film night at the court house and grounds. Attendees and participants were welocmed to country with a smoking ceremony hosted by Wergaia Elder, Uncle Ron Marks. Black Betti and Co, a new local business, provided refreshments and grazing platters.
Attendees were invited to offer their opinions and suggestions on the proposed plans for the court house being transformed into an artist-in-residence facility which would incorporate living and working spaces. The short film, 'After Warracknabeal' was screened for attendees from around the district who were also able to participate in a stargazing session led by Monash University Astronomers.
Working Heritage hopes to commence the pilot artis-in-residence program in late 2019.
Working Heritage has now completed a major remediation and improvement project at the Former Royal Mint in central Melbourne. The project represents a $3 million investment by Working Heritage in the future of the site and its cultural heritage significance.
Works included excavating along the inside of the brick perimeter wall, improving drainage and constructing a new internal retaining wall. The car park at the rear of the site was re-ashphalted, landscaped and a new urban park created on the northern side. Further conservation work to the brickwork of the perimeter wall will take place in 2019.
The project was carried out in response to evidence of the perimeter walls, which run along Latrobe Street and Little Lonsdale Street, gradually shifting over time. The impressive brick perimeter wall has stood since 1870 when it was built to provide security and retain the earth that forms the flat site in an area that slopes downhill towards Queen Street.
The Mint Car Park is now operating at normal capacity once more and is available to casual car park customers. The Mint Car Park funds a significant proporation of Working Heritage's projects at heritage places across Victoria.
t: 9600 1667
Former Royal Melbourne Mint
280 William Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
PO Box 13287
Law Courts Post Office
277 William Street
Melbourne VIC 8010
Permanent and casual parking
is available at the Mint Car Park,
280 William Street, Melbourne.