Saturday 29 July is your chance to visit Jack's Magazine – the compelling former gunpowder storage facility by the banks of the Maribyrnong River.
Working Heritage is opening the site – usually closed to the public to the public – as part of the Open House Melbourne weekend in 2017. Visitors will be invited inside to explore its buildings, tramways, tunnels and unusual earthmounds.
Melbourne Open House invites people to explore outstanding houses, buildings, infrastructure and landscapes that illustrate our rich history, reflect how we live and work, and offer insights into our future city.
Visit Open House Melbourne for more details.
Jack’s Magazine has been locked up, unused and inaccessible, since the 1990s. Working Heritage has taken on the management of Jack’s Magazine to develop uses for this remarkable place.
Hidden away at the base of an escarpment on the Maribyrnong River, the imposing bluestone walls, magazines and earth mounds of Jack’s Magazine have connections to turning points in Victoria’s history – from the gold rush to world wars.
The magazine was opened in 1878 to safely store gunpowder imported into the colony of Victoria. The site was later provided storage for other dangerous materials used in the ammunition factories close by. Jack's Magazine spurred the growth of military industry in the area that became known as the ‘arsenal of Australia’.
Working Heritage was appointed to manage Jack’s Magazine in June 2015.
Working Heritage is in a phase of intensive planning for the future of Jack’s Magazine.
For up-to-date information about visting Jack's Magazine, activation activities, planning and management visit www.jacksmagazine.org.au
Photographs by John Gollings.
t: 9600 1667
Former Royal Melbourne Mint
280 William Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
PO Box 13287
Law Courts Post Office
277 William Street
Melbourne VIC 8010
Permanent and casual parking
is available at the Mint Car Park,
280 William Street, Melbourne.