The Drysdale Free Library is now the home of the Drysdale First Scouts Group who use the hall and adjoining sheds while the Drysdale Community Craft shop occupies the front two rooms facing onto the main street.
The Drysdale Free Library was constructed in 1881 to Victorian eclectic designs by Geelong Architect Alexander Davidson.
The picturesque Library is a rendered building with moulded architraves, string course quoining, and central projecting porch. The windows have flat arched heads with a keystone. A timber hall is at the rear of the Free Library.
Working Heritage was appointed to manage Drysdale Free Library on in 2004 and undertook significant conservation works in 2006-07.
Working Heritage is now undertaking another round of conservation works to ensure it is a useful community asset.
Photographs by Peter Glenane.
t: 9600 1667
Former Royal Melbourne Mint
280 William Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
PO Box 13287
Law Courts Post Office
277 William Street
Melbourne VIC 8010
Permanent and casual parking
is available at the Mint Car Park,
280 William Street, Melbourne.