Working Heritage is a Committee of Management appointed by the Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978. The committee is supported by Executive Officer Ross Turnbull and a small team of staff who manage Working Heritage’s projects and operations.


Helen Weston

HW photo 15170 0002

Helen is an experienced urban planner with experience in statutory planning, environmental and social impact assessment and community consultation. Since 1992, she has been Director, Environmental Affairs Pty Ltd, a specialist urban and environmental planning practice.

She has worked on transport infrastructure projects throughout Australia and has international experience in India, Vietnam, Indonesia, Kiribati and New Zealand.

Helen is a Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia and Certified Practicing Planner and a Member of the Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand and a Certified Environmental Practitioner. She is a member of ICOMOS Australia,  a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a member of the board of Parks Victoria.


Committee members

Phillip Davies

PD photo 15170 0045

Phillip has held and continues to hold a range of senior executive management roles in both the private, legal and public sectors in Australia.

Phillip is currently Chief Executive and General Counsel of the not for profit company – Advanced Paediatric Life Support Services. He has a number of key directorships including Box Hill Institute of TAFE, Box Hill Enterprise Pty Ltd and Box Hill Institute Singapore PTE. He is a member of the Board of Trustees at the Southern Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust. Phillip is also currently Chairperson of Queen Elizabeth Centre the public hospital/community service organisation that is government owned.

He is also a long-standing member of the Board of Examiners for the Legal Profession in Victoria.


Dr Timothy Hubbard

TH photo 15170 0032 v3

Timothy is a retired architect and planner. He completed his PhD on the Italianate villa in the colonial landscape in 2004. He was awarded the inaugural ISSI Leslie M. Perrott Travelling Fellowship in 2006 to study historic roads in the US, UK and Europe.

Before establishing his own practice is 1988, Timothy worked with the Department of Planning and the Historic Buildings Council. He has been heritage advisor to many municipalities, both metropolitan and rural. Timothy has been a member of the Heritage Council, the Victorian Chapter of the Institute of Architects and the Australia ICOMOS Executive Committee. He continues as a member of the ICOMOS International Committee on Cultural Routes and is a sessional member of Planning Panels Victoria.


Lorina Nervegna

LN photo 15170 0077

Lorina has been registered as an architect in Victoria since 1993 and has expertise in design, built environment sustainability and heritage.

She has held national roles in peak industry associations (Australian Institute of Architects and the Cement and Concrete Association) and is a former board member of the Victorian Building Appeals Board. Lorina is former Director Building Policy (Victorian Government DPCD) and has consulted widely for the building and construction industry.

She is currently a sessional member of Planning Panels Victoria, an ordinary sessional member of the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal and principal of her own architecture practice.


Leigh Phillips

LP photo 15170 0018

Leigh has over 30 years’ experience with the Victorian Planning system. He has held a number of senior planning positions in various State Government departments with a particular focus on regional land use, project facilitation and management of the planning system.

His contribution to planning in Victoria has been recognised by the Victorian Planning and Environmental Law Association (VPELA) when he was presented with the ‘Paul Jerome’ award in 2008. He was a member of the Victorian Coastal Council and Alpine Resorts Coordinating Council and a member of the Central Coastal Board.

Leigh now runs his own planning consultancy business.






Clunes School of Mines

The gabled, Gothic hall

Service Street, Clunes



t: 9600 1667

Southern Gatehouse
Former Royal Melbourne Mint
280 William Street
Melbourne VIC 3000


PO Box 13287
Law Courts Post Office
277 William Street
Melbourne VIC 8010


Permanent and casual parking
is available at the Mint Car Park,
280 William Street, Melbourne.

More information

© Copyright 2018 Working Heritage. All Rights Reserved.